8 Foods That Are Surprisingly Not Vegan

Worcestershire sauce

The standard, Lea & Perrins, contains malt vinegar, spirit vinegar, molasses, sugar, salt, anchovies, tamarind extract, onions, garlic, spice, and flavorings. 


Here’s another one that’s not vegan, but not for the reasons you might think. There’s no actual cream in the cream filling of a Twinkie, nor do they contain gelatin. 

Protein powders

Whey is a byproduct of cheese production, and it’s also the primary ingredient in many protein powders. Thankfully, there are numerous vegan protein powders available 

Pre-made pie crust

You may think you’re in the clear when it comes to pre-made pie crusts, like the rolled kind you might get at your local grocery store. 

Pop Tarts with frosting

Frosting often contains gelatin, including the frosting that can be found on Pop Tart breakfast pastries. Some varieties also include milk, so be sure to check the ingredients list. 


If you’ve never made homemade pesto, you might not know that it includes parmesan cheese. Even jarred brands like Barilla and Classico contain parmesan cheese 

Miso soup

The good news is that miso soup can easily be made for vegans, as the primary ingredient is miso paste, which is just soybeans, salt, and yeast. 

McDonald’s fries

If you think passing on the Big Mac and having fries instead is the vegan choice, think again. McDonald's fries contain beef flavoring, so they’re not vegan or vegetarian at all. 

Swipe Up for more  stories